## John R. Wooden Award.

FOR RELEASE CONTACT: Linda Reid, LRPR (310) 291-9205 <u>lindreid@aol.com</u>

Cory Hathaway (213) 630-5206 woodenaward@laac.net

## JOHN R. WOODEN AWARD ANNOUNCES WOMEN'S PRESEASON TOP 30 LIST

All-Americans Return in Stanford's Ogwumike and three-time pick Moore of U. Conn

Los Angeles (October 5, 2010)— The Los Angeles Athletic Club has announced its Women's Preseason Top 30 list; the men's list was released yesterday. The women's list is comprised of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

Connecticut's Maya Moore, the 2009 Wooden Award winner and a 2008 and 2010 Wooden All American, returns to lead her team as a senior. She is looking to become only the second four-time Wooden All American pick after averaging 18.9 points and 8.3 rebounds a year ago for the undefeated Huskies. Ogwumike, the 2010 Pac-10 Player of the Year, averaged 18.5 ppg and 9.9 rpg a year ago for Stanford.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December's Midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top five players, will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 35th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, a special tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award founder Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 8-10, 2011.

Six schools, all perennial top programs at the national level, had two players chosen to the Preseason List: Connecticut (Moore, Tiffany Hayes); North Carolina (Jessica Breland, Italee Lucas); Ohio State (Jantel Lavender, Samantha Prahalis–both Wooden Award ballot picks in 2010); Stanford (Ogwumike, Kayla Pedersen); Tennessee (Angie Bjorklund, Shekenna Stricklen); and Xavier (Ta'Shia Phillips, Amber Harris).

The ACC and Big East each had five players named to the preseason Top 30. The Big 12, Big 10, Pac-10 and SEC each had three selections, followed by the Atlantic 10 and CAA with two, and the Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt and West Coast with one. Only three sophomores made the list: Baylor's Brittney Griner, Delaware's Elena Delle Donne and Skylar Diggins of Notre Dame.

## About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Candace Parker ('07 and '08) and Maya Moore of Connecticut ('09). Ohio State's Evan Turner and Connecticut's Tina Charles won the Award in 2010.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the Friday prior to the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to <u>www.WoodenAward.com</u>. For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact the Wooden Award staff at 213-630-5206 or email at <u>woodenaward@laac.net</u>.

###

## John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 30 List, Women

Name	Height	Class	Position	- University	Conference
Danielle Adams	6-1	Sr.	F/C	Texas A&M	Big 12
Kachine Alexander	5-9	Sr.	G	Iowa	Big Ten
Angie Bjorklund	6-0	Sr.	G/F	Tennessee	SEC
Jessica Breland	6-3	Sr.	F	North Carolina	ACC
Elena Delle Donne	6-5	So.	G/F	Delaware	CAA
Skylar Diggins	5-9	So.	G	Notre Dame	Big East
Jasmine Dixon	6-0	Jr.	F	UCLA	Pac 10
Victoria Dunlap	6-1	Sr.	F	Kentucky	SEC
Dawn Evans	5-7	Sr.	G	James Madison	CAA
Brittney Griner	6-8	So.	С	Baylor	Big 12
Amber Harris	6-5	Sr.	F	Xavier	Atlantic 10
Tiffany Hayes	5-10	Jr.	G	Connecticut	Big East
Shenise Johnson	5-11	Jr.	G	Miami	ACC
Jantel Lavender	6-4	Sr.	С	Ohio State	Big Ten
Italee Lucas	5-8	Sr.	G	North Carolina	ACC
Maya Moore*#	6-0	Sr.	F	Connecticut	Big East
Deirdre Naughton	5-10	Sr.	G	DePaul	Big East
Nnemkadi Ogwumike*	6-2	Jr.	F	Stanford	Pac 10
Kayla Pedersen	6-4	Jr.	F	Stanford	Pac 10
Ta'Shia Phillips	6-6	Sr.	С	Xavier	Atlantic 10
Samantha Prahalis	5-7	Jr.	G	Ohio State	Big Ten
Lauren Prochaska	5-11	Sr.	G/F	Bowling Green	Mid-American
Chastity Reed	6-1	Sr.	F	Arkansas Little-Rock	Sun Belt
Danielle Robinson	5-9	Sr.	G	Oklahoma	Big 12
Sugar Rodgers	5-11	So.	G	Georgetown	Big East
Shekinna Stricklen	6-2	Jr.	G/F	Tennessee	SEC
Helena Sverrisdottir	6-1	Sr.	G/F	TCU	Mountain West
Carolyn Swords	6-6	Sr.	С	Boston College	ACC
Jasmine Thomas	5-9	Sr.	G	Duke	ACC
Courtney Vandersloot	5-8	Sr.	G	Gonzaga	West Coast

(Based on a preseason poll. Players listed alphabetically.) \*indicates player chosen to the 2010 Wooden All American Team

#indicates player was 2009 Wooden Award winner

% indicates player chosen to the 2008 Wooden All American Team