Notre Dame Cross Country



Joe Piane Notre Dame Invitational

Friday, September 30, 2016 Burke Golf Course University of Notre Dame

Notre Dame Athletics Communications Contact: Megan Golden (mgolden@nd.edu)

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

2 p.m. Blue Women: 5K2:45 p.m. Blue Men: 5 miles

3:30 p.m. Open Race: Women-5K; Men-5 miles

4:15 p.m. Gold Women: 5K

5 p.m. Gold Men: 5 miles

MEET INFORMATION

COMPETING SCHOOLS: A complete list of participating schools is located on the back of this card.

TEAM SCORING: All races are strictly team races. Each team will be limited to nine runners in the team race. Teams may enter up to 15 individuals and run the additional six team members in the 3:30 p.m. open race.

COURSE MAP: Copies of the course map are available at the media information table.

News & Notes

KEEPING IT 100(%): The Irish women's squad recorded its second first-place finish of the season in the annual National Catholic (Notre Dame, Indiana) on September 16. The men's team placed second, led by third-place finisher Anthony Williams (25:11.8). Both teams recorded perfect scores in the annual Crusader Open (Valparaiso, Indiana) on September 2.

LOOKING AT MEET HISTORY: This year's meet marks the 61st annual Joe Piane Notre Dame Invitational. The Notre Dame men own 16 first-place team finishes (over 60 years), while the women have won five of 29 meets as a team. Nine Irish men and six women have been crowned individual champions.

SWEET 16: The Irish women's team enters the meet ranked No. 16. Notre Dame will race against three top-five teams: No. 1 Providence, No. 3 New Mexico and No. 5 North Carolina State.

RIDE TO RIO: Two Irish track and field runners qualified for the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. 2006 graduate Molly Huddle set an American record time (30:13.17) in the 10,000m run, placing sixth in the final. Margaret Bamgbose ('16) qualified and represented Nigeria, competing in the 400m dash.

HOME SWEET HOME: The Robert H. Harris family donated \$5.5 million to the university for the construction of a track and field stadium on the southeast corner of campus. The program's new home is expected to be finished in February of 2017.

ROHRING INTO ACTION: Sophomore Anna Rohrer (Mishawaka High School/Mishawaka) is scheduled to make her season debut after finishing in sixth place in the 6K at the 2015 NCAA Cross Country Championships. Rohrer ran to an 11th-place finish (15:49.42) in the 5K as a member of Team USA at the World Junior Track & Field Championships.

TRACK(ING) RESULTS: Today's meet will be scored by Delta Timing, and all results can be viewed online at DeltaTiming.com. The USTFCCCA National Results Wall (USTFCCCA.org) also will provide results from today's meet. Check out @NDXCTF and @USTFCCCA for additional coverage. Results will not be printed for any race.

AT THE HELM: Irish head coach Alan Turner enters his third season overseeing the track and field program at Notre Dame. Associate head coach Matt Sparks is in his third year with the Irish, while assistant coach Sean Carlson is in his sixth year.

HAVING FLASHBACKS: Led by NCAA Champion Molly Seidel, the Irish finished the 2015 cross country season with a a CoSIDA All-American. Seidel, a 2016 graduate, also captured the program's first individual national championship in the 10,000m event at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships in 2016.

BACK IN ACTION: The Irish return to action on October 14, when the men run in the Bradley Classic at 3 p.m. ET (Peoria, Illinois) and the women race in the Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational at 12:30 p.m. CT (Madison, Wisconsin).

FOLLOW THE IRISH

Facebook: Notre Dame Cross Country/Track & Field

Twitter: @NDXCTF Instagram: @NDXCTF

JOE PIANE NOTRE DAME INVITATIONAL

Women's Blue Race (2 p.m.)

Men's Blue Race (2:45 p.m.)

Women's Gold Race (4:15 p.m.) Men's Gold Race (5 p.m.)

Team (Ranking)

Providence (No. 1)

Purdue

Texas

Texas A&M

Utah (No. 28)

Weber State

Wisconsin

Vanderbilt (No. 24)

Air Force Alabama **Baylor** Boston College California Clemson Eastern Michigan Florida State Minnesota Mississippi Nebraska New Mexico (No. 3) North Carolina North Carolina State (No. 5) Notre Dame (No. 16) Oregon State

Team (Ranking)

Air Force Alabama Baylor Bradley California

Eastern Kentucky (No. 9) Eastern Michigan Florida State Illinois Mississippi (No. 20)

North Carolina State (No. 23) Nebraska

New Mexico North Carolina Notre Dame Providence Purdue Southern Utah Texas Texas A&M **UT Arlington** UTEP (No. 18)

Washington State (No. 24) Weber State

Wisconsin (No. 12)

Yale

Team (Ranking) **Ball State** Belmont Bradley Calvin (DIII) DePaul Duquesne

Eastern Illinois Illinois State Indiana State IUPUI Lovola Marshall Murray State North Central (DIII)

Northern Iowa Northern Kentucky Notre Dame-B (No. 16) **Oakland** South Carolina Southern Illinois **UNC Greensboro**

UT Arlington Utah Valley UTEP UW Oshkosh (DIII) UW Stevens Point (DIII)

Valparaiso Western Michigan Youngstown State Team (Ranking) Belmont **Bowling Green** Calvin (DIII) Central Michigan Clemson Duauesne **Eastern Illinois** Illinois State Indiana State IUPUI Lovola Marshall Murray State Northern Iowa Northern Kentucky **Oakland** Southern Illinois **UNC-Greensboro**

Utah Valley

Valparaiso

Vanderbilt

UW Oshkosh (DIII)

Youngstown State

UW Stevens Point (DIII)

MEET HISTORY

Men's Champions (last 20 years)

Women's Champions (last 20 years)

<u>Year</u>	Team	Individual	<u>Time</u>	<u>Year</u>	Team	Individual	Time
1996	Michigan	James Njoroge (Taylor)	23:34	1996	Notre Dame	JoAnna Deeter (Notre Dame)	16:27
1997	Eastern Michigan	Elly Rono (Southern Indiana)	24:10	1997	Bowling Green	Lisa Petsche (Edinboro)	17:11
1998		Julius Mwangi (Butler)	22:49	1998	North Carolina St.	JoAnna Deeter (Notre Dame)	16:50
1999	Mich./Georgetown	Ryan Shay (Notre Dame)	23:52	1999	Notre Dame	JoAnna Deeter (Notre Dame)	16:52
2000	Stanford	Luke Watson (Notre Dame)	24:56	2000	Stanford	Sheela Agrawal (Duke)	17:05
2001	Notre Dame	Luke Watson (Notre Dame)	24:06	2001	Notre Dame	Lauren King (Notre Dame)	17:20
2002	Stanford	Ryan Hall (Stanford)	24:10	2002	Stanford	Sara Bei (Stanford)	16:48
2003	Notre Dame	Gavin Thompson (Eastern Michigan)	24:06	2003	Notre Dame	Molly Huddle (Notre Dame)	17:12
2004	Stanford	Josh Rohatinsky (BYU)	23:40	2004	Stanford	Sara Bei (Stanford)	16:22
2005	Arizona	Chris Solinsky (Wisconsin)	23:21	2005	Michigan	Stephanie Madia (Notre Dame)	16:36
2006	North Carolina St.	Chris Solinsky (Wisconsin)	23:24	2006	Michigan	Erin Webster (Michigan)	16:36
2007	Notre Dame	Joshua McDougal (Liberty)	23.37	2007	Rice	Susan Kuijken (Florida State)	16:32
2008	Florida State	Samuel Kosgei (Lamar)	23:32	2008	Florida State	Brie Feinagle (North Carolina)	16:21
2009	Washington	Jacob Kirwa (New Mexico)	23.44	2009	Washington	Kendra Schaaf (Washington)	16:31
2010	Oregon	Luke Puskedra (Oregon)	23:39	2010	Villanova	Lucy Van Dalen (Stony Brook)	16:22
2011	BYU	Miles Batty (BYU)	23:59	2011	Florida State	Silje Fjortoft (SMU)	16:54
2012	Tulsa	Chris O'Hare (Tulsa)	23:33	2012	Florida State	Colleen Quigley (Florida State)	16:29
2013	Columbia	Anthony Rotich (UTEP)	24:18.6	2013	Florida State	Juliet Bottorff (Duke)	16:43.8
2014	Michigan	Mason Ferlic (Michigan)	23:15.7	2014	New Mexico	Charlotte Arter (New Mexico)	16:09.3
2015	UTEP	Anthony Rotich (UTEP)	23:49.1	2015	New Mexico	Ryen Frazier (North Carolina St.)	16:22.9

Men's five-mile record: Julius Mwangi (22:49), Butler, 1998

Women's 5K record: Charlotte Arter (16:09.3), New Mexico, 2014